Mu Phi Epsilon
Dallas Alumni Chapter

HomeNewsletterMeetingsConcert SeriesInterviewsPast NewslettersScholarshipsConventionsMusical EventsContact Us

The 2011 convention of Mu Phi Epsilon was held in Rochester, New York August 10 - 13, 2011. Themed Connected, this convention featured fraternity composers and performers. The Eastern Great Lakes and Great Lakes Provinces were the hosts. Jean Johnson, Mu Alpha, Rochester Alumni, was the Convention Chairman. The Hyatt Regency was the convention hotel, with other events at Eastman School of Music.

Attending from the Dallas Alumni chapter were Wynona Lipsett, past International President; Jenny Smith, President and SC2 District Director; Sandra McMillen, Second Vice-President/Collegiate Advisor; Mary Williams, Dallas Alumni Chapter business delegate; and Tena Hehn, Dallas Alumni member and past Province Governor 

With nominations from the floor, election of officers proved interesting. Jenny Smith was in charge of balloting. Retiring from the Board were President Fran Irwin, Doris Braun and Beverly Fernald. New officers are Rosemary Ames, president, Charlotte Brown – 1st VP Extension; Sandra McMillen – 2nd VP Collegiate Advisor; Lenita McCallum – 3rd VP Alumni Advisor; Martha McDonald – 4th VP Music; and Kurt-Alexander Zeller– 5th VP Eligibility.

Officers old and new: Lenita McCallum, Sandra McMillen, Doris Braun, Martha McDonald, Charlotte Brown, Wynona Lipsett (past president), Rosemary Ames, Fran Irwin (retiring past president)



Several cosmetic and procedural changes were made to the by-laws that will require further editing of our by-laws to be in compliance.

Delegate Ashley Kimmel of Phi Tau made a motion to establish a new Board position; the person in this office would represent collegiates on the IEB. This well-thought out motion was tabled to be studied by the chapters. We will get further information about it later.



Our South Central 2 district did well, with UNT chapter Phi Tau cleaning up national prizes for Outstanding Senior, won by Jeffery Kyle Hutchins, and Outstanding Chapter. 

The Dallas Alumni Chapter won Outstanding Alumni Chapter in the SC province, as well as Outstanding Community Service Project for our concert series.



As always at Convention, there were numerous fine musicians presented in concert – ranging from a dulcimer group, harp, string and wind ensembles, vocalists and pianists.

A choir of members sang Libby Larsen’s choral work Sweet and Sour Nursery Rhymes. Libby Larsen was a featured speaker and Mu Phi composer at this Convention. (below)

Dulcimer Group

Catherine Branch, flute
Brass Ensemble Aaron Short, tenor
The winner of the Mu Phi Epsilon Foundation competition was wonderful pianist Yukiko Sekino, who presented a concert at Kilbourn Hall at Eastman School of Music one evening. 



Dr. Keith Ford presented a recital of his own work as well as other composers. He also gave a presentation on his studies and experiences with different ethnic populations in London, the deep South and in Zanzibar.

Dr. Rebecca Sorley performed and presented a workshop on contemporary women composers, including works by Libby Larsen.

Dr. Nelita True, a piano faculty member at Eastman, gave a presentation on coping with stage fright that many people could relate to, with many useful tips. She also gave the keynote speech, stressing the Convention theme: Connected. She gave interesting examples of how former students of hers connected with various aspects of music and the community, finding new ways to create jobs, audiences, and musical opportunities. She also related some of her own connections and opportunities in her career that led her to her present position.


Other Sessions

Other sessions were presented on chapter websites, future of the fraternity, Mu Phi Epsilon Foundation and Tips for Music Ed majors.

An initiation ceremony was presented with Sandra McMillen preparing the collegiates and a memorial service was conducted by Wynona Lipsett. 

In addition there were district meetings for collegiate and alumni chapters, a luncheon honoring 50+ year members and an interesting opening presentation on parliamentary procedure (I’m not kidding!) which proved to be quite helpful in conducting our business.



South Central 2 Collegiates:
Sophia Bohannon (Epsilon Epsilon, TCU), Ashley Kimmel (Phi Tau, UNT),
Jon Starling (Beta Mu, Texas A&M Commerce), Brandon Nelson (Phi Tau, UNT), Jenny Smith (District Director SC2), Kate Sutton (Phi Xi, Baylor)

Rosemary Ames, President 50-year Member Luncheon
SC delegates
reach for the stars
Mu Phi Epsilon Foundation Board
Tena Hehn accompanies songs in the new song book Jenny Smith and Tena Hehn visit Niagra Falls after the Conference


for more information on the 2011 convention.

Contact Information
Electronic mail / President / General Information - Nancy Laine:
Website - Mary Williams:
Concert Series - Kimla Beasley:
VP/Membership - Kimla Beasley:
Programs - Phyllis Wilson: and Claudia Jameson:

Mu Phi Epsilon